Follow the Light Foundation 2012: Call for Entries

Duncan Macfarlane, winner of the FTLF 2011 AwardDuncan Macfarlane, winner of the FTLF 2011 Award

The Follow the Light Foundation (FTLF) is calling all photographers to submit their applications for its annual $5,000 grant in honor of the late Larry "Flame" Moore. The deadline is coming up: entries must be received no later than Friday, April, 13, 2012.

The FTLF was founded after Moore's passing to ensure that up-and-coming surf photographers continue to get the recognition and support they deserve. Flame -- legendary Photo Editor of SURFING Magazine for more than three decades -- made it a priority to teach and inspire anyone with a passion for photography. This grant helps keep that legacy alive. The application along with rules and regulations can be found on the FTLF website. (

Now in its seventh year, the FTLF continues to recognize photographers on the rise and help fuel their vision. During this year's submission process, photographers will edit their images and cue it to the music of their choice. The "visual presentations" of the Top 5 finalists will then be shown at an awards night at the Shorebreak Hotel during the US Open of Surfing on Tues, July 31. "Recognizing the world's best up-and-coming surf photographers fits right in with the spirit of the US Open of Surfing," says FTLF sponsor Bob Hurley. "It's so fun to see such an amazing showcase of young talent in one place -- very inspiring."

Judging from the career paths of past winners, the FTLF recipients will continue to inspire. 2011 recipient Duncan McFarlane is now a staff photographer for SURFING Magazine. 2010 recipient Morgan Maassen is a SURFER staffer and is quickly becomingthe surf world's freshest eye. 2007 winner Matt Clark is a professional photographer based in New York, specializing in fine art surf, travel and documentary photography.

Former winners Chris Burkard , Todd Glaser and Ray Collins are three of the most prolific and talented photographers in the sport today, and they all give credit to Flame and FTLF for helping their dream job come true. "It was such an honor to be picked for this grant," said 2008 winner Todd Glaser. "To be recognized and critiqued by legends like Aaron Chang -- and get funding on top of it -- will always stand as a career highlight."

Follow The Light also wants you to be a judge. The SWELL People's Choice Award , will be an interactive process where you can vote for your favorite. Winner will be announced at the Shorebreak Hotel, where we will also raffle off a ton of prizes.

To submit an application, contact Peter Taras ( or Jeremiah Klein ( Applicants must be present at awards ceremony in order to win.

The FTLF is proud to be working with Surfing Magazine, SWELL, Hurley and Oakley to provide this year's grant. For more information, go to

About Follow the Light: On October 10th, 2005, the surfing community lost one of its most influential figures. After a nearly three-year battle with brain cancer Larry "Flame" Moore, the Photo Editor of SURFING Magazine for 30 years, passed. He left behind a legacy of brilliant photography and an army of photographers trained by him. Through his work at SURFING Magazine, Larry literally gave three decades of surfing their "look." Today, honoring Larry's request, we have established Follow the Light Foundation (FTLF), an organization that will help finance the dreams of surf photographers, pushing the sport and its lensmen forward.