Harrison Roach Wins Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational in Noosa


Harrison Roach Takes First Place at the Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational Presented by Vans in Noosa, Australia

Head to vans.com/ducttape for contest highlights, photos and more.

Vans USA, Cypress, CA (March 17, 2013) – The Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational presented by Vans debuted in Noosa Heads, Australia as part of the historic Noosa Crick's Jeep Festival of Surfing. Two-time world long board champion, Joel Tudor, invited 16 of the world's best long board surfers to express their uniquely progressive surf style in this distinctive competition that boasts a $10,000 USD prize purse.

Conditions were flawless for Friday's heats, a perfect showcase for traditional style loggin' where locals Jai Lee, Matt Cuddihy and past winners Alex Knost and Tyler Warren (California) surfed against defending title owner Harrison Roach. The sun shone for the finals where the four remaining surfers were met with near-perfect conditions for the semis. Finals highlights included some of the best conditions of the day, with three local Noosa loggers taking on the lone Californian, Alex Knost. Harrison Roach’s effortless style paid off in the end, showcasing some of the best surfing of the event.

“It was such a pleasure to bring the Duct Tape to Noosa, and be a part of a festival with so much history," says Joel Tudor. "I’ve been coming to Noosa for many years and always enjoy seeing my friends and the local surf community.This event showcased the local talent and brought traditional loggin' back to its roots.”

Watch the video recap here: http://www.vans.com/eventsites/duct-tape-invitational/post/video/

Video credit: Graham Nash


1. Harrison Roach ($4,000 USD)
2. Jai Lee ($3,000 USD)
3. Alex Knost ($2,000 USD)
4. Matt Cuddihy ($1,000 USD)

Shared waves:

Heat 1: James Parry and Zye Norris
Heat 2: Tyler Warren and Dane Peterson
Heat 3: Jared Mell and Harrison Roach
Heat 4: Robbie Kegel and Matt Cuddihy

Semi final 1: no shared waves (carries into the next heat)
Semi final 2: no shared waves (carries into the next heat)

Final: Harrison Roach and Jai Lee

Noosa marks the seventh event in the Joel Tudor Duct Tape series, with each stop taking place at famous global surf spots. Quintal won the inaugural contest at the 2010 East Coast Surfing Championships in Virginia Beach, followed by another win in late fall wavesin Montauk, New York's Ditch Plains. Three Duct Tape contests were held in 2011 with Knost winning at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, Warren taking out the title at the Salinas Longboard Festival in Spain and Knost again pacing thefield at Surfrider Beach in Malibu later that year. Closing out the summer in 2012, Australian Harrison Roach took first in the latest competition held in Biarritz, France.

Contest Invitees Included:

Harrison Roach, Alex Knost, Robbie Kegel, Tyler Warren, Alex Bullpit, James Parry, Dane Peterson, Justin Quintal, ZyeNorris, Jared Mell, Matty Chojnacki, Jai Lee, Thomas Bexon, Matt Cuddihy, Troy Elmore and local wildcard Nic Jones.