Hurley Pro: Day 3

All Photos: Jimmicane
[portfolio_slideshow size=large]

Only the ASP can judge me. Tupac Shakur never said that, but the world tour’s finest reluctantly muttered it on the third day of the Hurley Pro at Lowers. When guys are doing the same exact turns and tail throws on the same exact crumb cake bowls, the judging becomes a pedantic specimen of subjectivity. Many heats were decided by iffy margins of less than a point. Wave selection was a life-or-death matter and it only took one priority blunder to locate the latter. Kolohe Andino learned that in his early morning matchup with Taj Burrow. Brother’s surfing was superb, but a tactical mistake late in the heat gave Taj the go-ahead. Not Young also got bit by the pest of strategy in his loss to Travis Logie — his ice-cold nerves allowed him to wait one half-set too long. Right after Nat’s heat, Julian Wilson and Felipe Toledo endeavored in one of the best battles of the event. Both surfers comboed long, walled rights and got sparky on quick lefts. The judges hands were full, and they were full of uncertainty. Julian was eventually given the nod, but only by a feigned .96 points. Round 4 commenced with more desperately close heats until Julian returned to devour the last heat of the day. In pulsing surf, he punted the two highest scores of the event. He is easily the favorite heading into the final day, but don’t tell the judges that.

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.00 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 15.87
Heat 2: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.30 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.87
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 16.20 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.67
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 16.00 def. Fred Patacchia (HAW) 9.43
Heat 5: Kai Otton (AUS) 15.17 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.07
Heat 6: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 15.57 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 14.80
Heat 7: Mick Fanning (AUS) 15.17 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 14.87
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF) 13.94 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 13.80
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) 14.67 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11.93
Heat 10: Travis Logie (ZAF) 14.47 def. Nat Young (USA) 11.73
Heat 11: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.03 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 16.07
Heat 12: Adam Melling (AUS) 14.67 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 10.06

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 15.60, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.33, Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.23
Heat 2: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 15.23, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 13.40, Kai Otton (AUS) 13.03
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) 17.30, Mick Fanning (AUS) 16.80, Josh Kerr (AUS) 12.93
Heat 4: Julian Wilson (AUS) 19.07, Adam Melling (AUS) 14.03, Travis Logie (ZAF) 12.67

Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Taj Burrow (AUS)
Heat 3: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 4: Adam Melling (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)

*Heat winners go straight to quarterfinals.