Jeffreys Bay. Just saying the name makes you think about long, freight train rights pouring into the Supertubes section and getting a long barrel. Now imagine being in a heat with those perfect waves steaming your way. Only you and one other person in the water.This is the reality for the top 48 surfers as the ASP’s World Championship Tour pulls into South Africa for the 2005 edition of the Billabong Pro J-Bay.

Defending event champion Andy Irons

As the defending event champion, it will be up to Andy Irons to defend his crown against former J-Bay event winners such as Kelly Slater (2 time winner), Jake Paterson (2 time winner), Joel Parkinson, Mick Fanning and Occy.

Also a major presence at this event, you can’t discount the local wild cards. Local Sean Holmes has made a reputation as a wild card that can take the top seeds out at will.Currently, Kelly Slater sits atop the leader board of the WCT standings, but Mick Fanning is quickly closing the gap with his second victory of the year at the Rip Curl Search Reunion Island. Trent Munro will also be looking to make up ground that he has lost with a string of 3 consecutive Round 4 losses.

History has always favored the regular-foots at Jeffreys, but will this be the year that a goofyfoot breaks the stranglehold the regulars have on the event? Last years event runner-up Nathan Hedge will do his best to take the Billabong Pro title home with him, and you can bet that the fearsome backhand attack of Mark Occhilupo will be in full effect.

So who will walk away with the 2005 Billabong Pro crown? Tune in to from July 12th thru the 22nd for live event coverage. And stay tuned to for daily updates from South Africa with editor Evan Slater.

Current WCT top 20
After the Rip Curl Reunion Island Event1 – Kelly Slater
2 – Trent Munro
3 – Mick Fanning
4 – Andy Irons
5 – C.J. Hobgood
6 – Cory Lopez
7 – Nathan Hedge
=8 – Taj Burrow, Fred Patacchia
10 – Joel Parkinson
11 – Phil MacDonald
12 – Daniel Wills
13 – Damien Hobgood
14 – Bruce Irons
15 – Dean Morrison
16 – Darren O’Rafferty
=17 – Peterson Rosa, Tom Whitaker
19 – Chris Ward
20 – Luke Egan

2 -time event champion and ratings leader Kelly Slater