Maverick’s 2009 Surf Contest Is Back On

Well, thanks to Jim Beam Bourbon we'll get to watch the world's best throw themselves over the ledge and into the bowl at Mavericks again this year. The unlikely alcohol sponsor came in during "the eleventh hour" to save the contest from a 2009 hiatus in a struggling American economy. “Regardless of the prize money, this is just a good opportunity to get all the guys together and charge some big waves," said multi-year finalist Grant Washburn. "We’re obviously stoked and thankful for the event, but we’ll be out there either way."

As California's only premier big-wave event, the invite-only Mavericks Surf Contest has become the perfect opportunity to introduce big wave riding to both a mainstream audience as well as core surfers, with a worldwide web cast, National television coverage and a screening at AT&T park -- where fans can watch on the big screen at the baseball stadium. The waiting period for the event begins January first and the prize purse this year has reached $75,000, with $30,000 going to the winner. The invited surfers will have to be on alert as they only have 24 hour notice once a call is made to run the event in Half Moon Bay, California.

Defending champion Greg Long will defend his title (this year with his sponsor, Billabong, adorning his board no doubt) against an international and star-studded cast of big wave surfers from every corner of the globe. So, grab a tumbler, some ice and enjoy the show.

Be sure to check our the official website for updates on when the contest will run:

The invite list is as follows: Matt Ambrose, Ben Andrews, Grant Baker, Ion Banner, Chris Bertish, Carlos Burle, Kenny Collins, Shane Desmond, Nathan Fletcher, Brock Little, Greg Long, Josh Loya, Peter Mel, Shawn Rhodes, Ryan Seelbach, Evan Slater, Tyler Smith, Jamie {{{Sterling}}}, Anthony Tashnick, Darryl Virostko, Grant Washburn, Dave Wassell, Tim West, Zach Wormhoudt.

Alternates, in priority order are: Alex Martins, Danilo Couto, Mark Healey, Tyler {{{Fox}}}, Rusty Long, Nic Lamb, Jamie Mitchell, Mike Gerhardt, Russell Smith, Kealii Mamala, Garrett McNamara, Andrew Marr, Lawton Smith, John Whittle, Colin Dwyer.

Sponsors who stepped up to make sure the 2009 Mavericks Surf Contest was a go: Jim Beam Bourbon, Moose Guen and Jane Sutherland of MVision, Clif Bar & Co., the Bay Club, The Corporate Law Group, Vertical Response, Surfer Magazine, Sam’s Chowder House,, Capture Technologies, and Jeff Clark Surfboards.