On Tuesday night, the Shorebreak Hotel hosted the Seventh Annual Follow the Light Awards in honor of Larry "Flame" Moore. MC Aaron Chang opened the ceremony with a dedication to Sean Collins. A tear-jerking film with interviews from Mike Parsons, Evan Slater, Brad Gerlach, Pat O'Connell, AJ Collins and more had everyone in somber appreciation for all that the man has done for surfing.

After the film, the five finalists were invited onto the stage. Among this year’s fifty-six entrants, Sarah Lee, Ryan Craig, Mike Smolowe, Shawn Parkin and Matt Kurvin took top honors and fielded a quick Q and A before their slideshows began. The portfolios were nothing short of amazing, each giving a glimpse into their personal styles.

Before announcing the winner, the finalists were asked to leave the room so the audience could cast their vote for the "Peoples Choice Award." Everyone got up and put a Ping-Pong ball in one of the five photographers giant glass vases. Big Island’s Sarah Lee took the award as well as a plane ticket to Hawaii. Aaron Chang remarked, "You can take the back route to Hawaii from Brazil. That's the way to do it."

Back on stage, the five finalists nervously anticipated the announcement of winner. Flame’s wife, Candy Moore, presented Dana Point's Shawn Parkin as the recipient of the 2012 Follow the Light $5000 grant. A well-deserved victory that inspired the industry-heavy room and left everyone stoked.

[portfolio_slideshow size=large]

Shawn Parkin’s winning Slideshow