Dusty Payne Wins 2014 Reef Hawaiian Pro

[portfolio_slideshow size=large]
All Photos: Peter Taras

Sometimes, the best surfer doesn’t win. But that wasn’t the case at the 2014 Reef Hawaiian Pro. Unless your name starts with Ross and ends with Williams, Haleiwa can trick you into losing. The current will push you every which way and the wall will trick you into trying a floater where you should be doing a turn and doing a turn where you should be trying a floater. But none of that mattered today.

On the last day of the event, the best surfers won. The final featured Dusty Payne, Julian Wilson, Jeremy Flores and Adam Melling. Dusty and Julian — the two stars of Swamp Duck — went toe-to-toe-to-tail-throw. Julian opened with a 9.07 and a 9.67. Dusty closed with a 9.87 and a 9.77. Adam and Jeremy sort of just hung out and looked pretty (on rail). And when the sun set over Haleiwa, Dusty had the 2014 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing ratings lead. Speaking of sunsets, which stop is next?

REEF Hawaiian Pro Final Results:
1st: Dusty Payne (HAW) 19.64pts – $40,000 – 6,500 ratings points
2nd: Julian Wilson (AUS) 18.74pts – $20,000 – 5,200 ratings points
3rd: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.97pts – $12,000 – 4,450 ratings points
4th: Adam Melling (AUS) 11.33pts – $10,000 – 4,000 ratings points

REEF Hawaiian Pro Semifinal Results (1st & 2nd advance, 3rd=5th; 4th=7th):
Semifinal 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.43pts ; Dusty Payne (HAW) 16.36pts ; Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 14.73pts ; Brett Simpson (USA) 14.50pts
Semifinal 2: Adam Melling (AUS) 17.40pts ; Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.00pts ; Frederico Morais (PRT) 14.70pts ; Torrey Meister (HAW) 14.67pts

REEF Hawaiian Pro Quarterfinal Results (1st & 2nd advance, 3rd=9th; 4th=13th):
Quarterfinal 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.67pts ; Dusty Payne (HAW) 15.50pts ; Jordy Smith (ZAF) 12.80pts ; Mick Fanning (AUS) 10.74pts
Quarterfinal 2: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 15.60pts ; Brett Simpson (USA) 13.40pts ; Bede Durbidge (AUS) 13.07pts ; Joel Centeio (HAW) 12.83pts
Quarterfinal 3: Torrey Meister (HAW) 15.87pts ; Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.57pts ; Wade Carmichael (AUS) 15.10pts ; Travis Logie (ZAF) 12.83pts
Quarterfinal 4: Adam Melling (AUS) 17.20pts ; Frederico Morais (PRT) 14.80pts ; Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 14.77pts ; Michel Bourez (PYF) 10.20pts

REEF Hawaiian Pro Round 4 Results (Round of 32 – 1st & 2nd advance, 3rd=17th; 4th=25th):
Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.00pts ; Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 13.24pts ; Joan Duru (FRA) 13.14pts ; Tomas Hermes (BRA) 11.50pts
Heat 2: Dusty Payne (HAW) 17.63pts ; Joel Centeio (HAW) 14.43pts ; Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.23pts ; Nic Von Rupp (PRT) 10.50pts
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 15.43pts ; Mick Fanning (AUS) 14.20pts ; Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR) 11.56pts ; Sebastian Zietz (AUS)
Heat 4: Brett Simpson (USA) 14.00pts ; Julian Wilson (AUS) 10.43pts ; Mitch Crews (AUS) 10.43pts ; Damien Hobgood (USA) 8.20pts
Heat 5: Travis Logie (ZAF) 16.94pts ; Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 15.23pts ; Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 11.16pts ; Conner Coffin (USA) 7.93pts
Heat 6: Torrey Meister (HAW) 15.94pts ; Frederico Morais (PRT) 13.10pts ; Owen Wright (AUS) 12.97pts ; Keanu Asing (HAW) 11.50pts
Heat 7: Adam Melling (AUS) 15.13pts ; Wade Carmichael (AUS) 14.20pts ; Tiago Pires (PRT) 10.83pts ; Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 9.17pts
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF) 18.27pts ; Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.53pts ; Filipe Toledo (BRA) 11.17pts ; Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 6.90pts